Celebrating Excellence: College of Education Faculty Honored with Prestigious Awards & Appointments

The College of Education is proud to recognize outstanding faculty who have made significant contributions in the areas of scholarship, research and service to the community in their careers.

Michelle Cumming • Council for Exceptional Children Student Award
Through its student research awards program, the CEC Division for Research recognizes high-quality research conducted by students in the course of their undergraduate or graduate special education training program. CEC-DR invites nominations for research in the following categories: qualitative, quantitative, single subject, and mixed methods design. For 2017, CEC-DR is pleased to make awards in two categories:  quantitative and single subject designs.

Denise DávilaNational Council of Teachers of English Alan C. Purves Award
The Purves Award is presented annually to the author(s) of the Research in the Teaching of English article from the previous year’s volume judged as likely to have the greatest impact on educational practice.

Gwen Marchand  President, Southwest Consortium for Innovative Psychology in Education 
SCIPIE is professional organization devoted to the study of psychology in education.  At the core of SCIPIE are devoted consortium members who maintain leadership roles in educational research around the country.  SCIPIE hosts a biennial conference where researchers develop innovative approaches to research.

E. Michael NussbaumPresident, Division 15 American Psychology Association
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 115,700 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members.

Harsha Perera AERA Division E Outstanding Dissertation Award
The American Educational Research Association awards special recognition to an outstanding dissertation or doctoral thesis written in English that contributes important knowledge to the study of doctoral education is given biennially.

Jenna Weglarz-WardCouncil for Exceptional Children Division for Early Childhood J. David Sexton Award
The J. David Sexton Doctoral Student Award is given to a DEC member and doctoral-level student who has made contributions to young children with special needs and their families through their efforts in research, higher education, publications, policy, and information dissemination.

Peter WeinsAERA SIG 54 Best Paper
The American Educational Research Association Special Interest Group on International Studies seeks to provide a forum for the exchange of information among educators involved in research, planning, development, implementation, and evaluation of international studies.

Chris WoodAmerican Counseling Association Fellow Award
The ACA Fellow Award is bestowed upon members of professional distinction who have been recognized for significant and unique contributions to the counseling profession through professional practice, scientific achievement, leadership and governance, and/or teaching and training. This honor is presented to less than 1 percent of the more than 56,000 ACA members.

UNLV Awards

Jaymes Aimetti • Outstanding Teaching by Part-Time Faculty Award

Matthew BernackiScholarship of Teaching and Learning Award

Alice CorkillIndividual Assessment Faculty Award

Connie Malin • Outstanding Teaching by Part-Time Faculty Award

Sarah Murphy • Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

Conrad Oh-YoungOutstanding Dissertation Award