Celebrating Excellence: College of Education Faculty Honored with Prestigious Awards & Appointments

The College of Education is proud to recognize outstanding faculty who have made significant contributions in the areas of scholarship, research and service to the community in their careers.

Michelle Cumming • Council for Exceptional Children Student Award
Through its student research awards program, the CEC Division for Research recognizes high-quality research conducted by students in the course of their undergraduate or graduate special education training program. CEC-DR invites nominations for research in the following categories: qualitative, quantitative, single subject, and mixed methods design. For 2017, CEC-DR is pleased to make awards in two categories:  quantitative and single subject designs.

Denise DávilaNational Council of Teachers of English Alan C. Purves Award
The Purves Award is presented annually to the author(s) of the Research in the Teaching of English article from the previous year’s volume judged as likely to have the greatest impact on educational practice.

Gwen Marchand  President, Southwest Consortium for Innovative Psychology in Education 
SCIPIE is professional organization devoted to the study of psychology in education.  At the core of SCIPIE are devoted consortium members who maintain leadership roles in educational research around the country.  SCIPIE hosts a biennial conference where researchers develop innovative approaches to research.

E. Michael NussbaumPresident, Division 15 American Psychology Association
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 115,700 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members.

Harsha Perera AERA Division E Outstanding Dissertation Award
The American Educational Research Association awards special recognition to an outstanding dissertation or doctoral thesis written in English that contributes important knowledge to the study of doctoral education is given biennially.

Jenna Weglarz-WardCouncil for Exceptional Children Division for Early Childhood J. David Sexton Award
The J. David Sexton Doctoral Student Award is given to a DEC member and doctoral-level student who has made contributions to young children with special needs and their families through their efforts in research, higher education, publications, policy, and information dissemination.

Peter WeinsAERA SIG 54 Best Paper
The American Educational Research Association Special Interest Group on International Studies seeks to provide a forum for the exchange of information among educators involved in research, planning, development, implementation, and evaluation of international studies.

Chris WoodAmerican Counseling Association Fellow Award
The ACA Fellow Award is bestowed upon members of professional distinction who have been recognized for significant and unique contributions to the counseling profession through professional practice, scientific achievement, leadership and governance, and/or teaching and training. This honor is presented to less than 1 percent of the more than 56,000 ACA members.

UNLV Awards

Jaymes Aimetti • Outstanding Teaching by Part-Time Faculty Award

Matthew BernackiScholarship of Teaching and Learning Award

Alice CorkillIndividual Assessment Faculty Award

Connie Malin • Outstanding Teaching by Part-Time Faculty Award

Sarah Murphy • Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

Conrad Oh-YoungOutstanding Dissertation Award

Teaching with Heart: Three COE Students Recognized at 2017 Heart of Education Awards

Three members of the Educational Policy and Leadership cohort have been recognized by the Heart of Education Awards for Clark County Teachers. Debra Huckins and Cory Garr were named finalists and Bonnie Lamping received the Las Vegas Review Journal People’s Choice Award, presented along with a 2,500 dollar prize to the four teachers who receive the most votes in an open contest.

Educational Policy & Leadership Students, Debra Huckins, Bonnie Lamping and Cory Garr, were recognized at the 2017 Heart of Education Awards

Teachers can be nominated by anyone—students, parents, community members—for a Heart of Education award, and are recognized by how they’ve gone above and beyond to support students in their classrooms.

The Smith Center for the Performing Arts, along with the Rogers Foundation, launched the Heart of Education Awards with the goal of honoring, recruiting and retaining great educators in Southern Nevada. The awards seek to celebrate educators and what they have given to their students and our community.

First & Second Year Seminar Service Learning Showcase

An integration of volunteer experience, reflection, and research for our COE 102/202 students.

First and Second-Year Seminar Service Learning Poster Session

Description of Event
Students will be presenting the details of their Service Learning Project. Students will be engaging guests in discussion about their volunteer experience, personal reflection, and related research. Guests are encouraged to ask questions and visit with our students.

Time and Date
Monday, May 1st from 10:30am – 2:30pm

Carlson Education Building (CEB) – First Floor

Invited Guests
All faculty, staff, and students are invited to attend!

For further information contact: Dr. Nathan Slife.