UNLV Press Conference on Teacher Shortage

UNLV joined AACTE to host a conversation on how educator programs are addressing Nevada teacher shortages.

The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) invites you to join the conversation on how educator preparation programs are addressing the persistent teacher shortages in Nevada at a press conference, Monday, February 22, at 2:00 p.m. PST on the campus of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (Stan Fulton Building).

Presented by AACTE in partnership with member institutions in the state, the event will highlight an interactive panel discussion moderated by Mark LaCelle-Peterson, AACTE Senior Vice President for Policy and Programs, and will feature the following panelists:

  • Kenneth Coll, Dean, College of Education, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Kim Metcalf, Dean, College of Education, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Dennis Potthoff, Dean, School of Education, Nevada State College
  • Thomas Reagan, Dean of Arts and Sciences, Great Basin College
  • Staci Vesneske, Former Chief Human Resources Officer, Clark County School District, on special assignment to the superintendent’s office

The panelists will discuss factors contributing to the local shortage as well as efforts to alleviate it. They will describe their work to develop a more robust teacher pipeline that addresses the needs of schools across Clark County and the state. Attendees will gain an inside look into the collaborative work under way to strengthen the educator workforce in Nevada and how it fits within the national context of addressing teacher shortages.

AACTE is excited to present this event hosted by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and in partnership with Great Basin College, Nevada State College, and the University of Nevada, Reno.

RSVP Requested: http://aacte.org/index.php?option=com_rsform&formId=27

Questions on this event can be directed to Sheila Bray at sheila.bray@unlv.edu

Rodman Scholars: Preparing the Next Generation

The largest single endowment to UNLV is being used for scholarships and fellowships for UNLV students.

n Fall 2014, the College of Education became the recipient of the largest single endowment to the university in the amount of $12.9 million by the late Kitty Rodman, a longtime supporter of the university and the community. Per Ms. Rodman’s request, the funds are to support scholarships and graduate fellowships for UNLV students pursuing careers in special education.

The second cohort of Rodman Scholars begins coursework Spring 2016: Patrick Achord, Ashlen Atkinson, Deanna Bitsko, Audrey Blockovich, Alicia Corey, Luke Danno, Melissa M. King, Corey Lewis, Jennifer MacDonald, and Monique Pinczynski. All ten of these students are undergraduate College of Education majors.

In addition to meeting the application requirements, a key factor in the final selection of the scholars was that they each embody passion and commitment to the special education career field and serving students with disabilities in the Las Vegas community. Dean Kim Metcalf speaks to the importance of scholarships to continue the work of the College of Education:

“Special education is one of UNLV’s longest running programs. It is a great honor to our institution that Kitty Rodman would recognize the College of Education’s commitment to producing teachers who are dedicated to helping children with disabilities.”

Dr. Kyle Higgins, Professor in Educational & Clinical Studies, and Ms. Nancy Brown, Educational & Clinical Studies Field Coordinator, agree that Ms. Rodman was a visionary, and both indicate that the Rodman Scholarships will showcase this vision by contributing to the department’s ability to attract the best and the brightest students to the field of special education.

Two COE faculty honored by the Association of Teacher Educators

Jane McCarthy and Lois Paretti were recently honored by the Association of Teacher Educators.

Dr. Jane McCarthy received the Hans Olsen Award for the Distinguished Teacher Educator at the Association of Teacher Educators (ATE) Conference in February 2016. This award is given to a member of the organization with particular focus on modeling professional teaching practices and collaborations with school, university, state education department, professional organizations, and community representatives to improve teaching, learning, and teacher education. More information on this specific award can be found at: http://www.ate1.org/pubs/Hans_Olsen_Disting.cfm

Ms. Lois Paretti was named the Distinguished Clinician in Teacher Education from the Association of Teacher Educators, also at this conference. This award recognizes school-based teacher educators whose work in a clinical environment, with demonstrated roles as a clinician to assist teachers in applying content of pedagogy of effective teaching and emphasizing reflective teaching, helps teachers become better in their professions. More information on this specific award can be found at: http://www.ate1.org/pubs/Distinguished_Clin.cfm

The ATE promotes advocacy, equity, leadership, and professionalism for teacher educators in all settings and supports quality education for all learners at all levels through both exemplary clinical practice and research.

2016-2017 Teach Nevada Scholarship Recipients

The College of Education provides funding to 55 students who are returning to UNLV to become teachers through alternative route to licensure programs.

Professionals who have earned a bachelor’s degree previously in a variety of disciplines- yet now desire to teach in PK-12 classrooms- get that chance because of the Teach Nevada Scholarship. SB 511, or the Teach Nevada Scholarship Program, designated $2.5 million for each of the next two fiscal years for scholarships. For fiscal year 2017, UNLV COE received $1.2 million of the state’s allocated funds. For this award cycle, recipients were those enrolling in alternative routes to licensure programs.

Eligible students included, without limitation:

  1. Recent high school graduates who have not yet enrolled in a teacher preparation program;
  2. Students who are currently enrolled in a non-education related college/university degree program and change their academic program to teacher preparation;
  3. Students who have completed some credits at a university or college who re-enrolled in a teacher preparation program;
  4. Students who possess a bachelor’s degree in a non-education related field and chose to pursue a new alternative route to licensure for teaching;
  5. Veterans and the spouses of veterans; and
  6. Students who have had some experience working in a classroom, including without limitation, as a paraprofessional or substitute teacher.

The 2016-17 Teach Nevada Scholarship recipients are as follows: Fande Bayoh, Brianna Bolinger, Katherine Cain, Mindy Carson, Jacob Cassens, Gary Crouch, Emma Earley, Donald Edmondson, Allen Emmel, Adam Eslinger, Roderick Feurtado, Jennifer Flores, JoAnn Galante, Trebor Gibson, Teresa Gomez, Cynthia Greenleaf, Andrew Hall, Majorie Kathleen Hall, Anna-Marie Hamel, Elizabeth Hawley, John Honey, LyaTedra Howard-Harvey, Heather Locke, Samuel Lopez, Cristina Magdaleno Gonzalez, Rebecca Martin, Erin McFadden, LaShanda McGowan, Lwwayne McQueen, Sandra Mireles, Daniel Monroe, Antonio Mosby, Stephanie Moxley, Lauren Nelson, Crystal Nunes, James Oneil, Fabiola Ortiz, Kimberly Pickens, Garrett Pratt, Virginia Ramos-Barajas, Rebecca Ramos-Barajas, Richard Rodriguez, Gregory Sanders, James Smerek, Daniel Speregon, Nicole Szynski, Amber Thacker, Tyler Thompson, Della Tilsher, Minli Wang, Sandy Wayne, Carissa Wilson, Jeanne Winthrop, and Thomas Zeitler.

For more information about The Teach Nevada Scholarships Program visit the NDE website at http://www.doe.nv.gov/Educator_Development_and_Support/Educator_Preparation/