Two COE faculty honored by the Association of Teacher Educators

Jane McCarthy and Lois Paretti were recently honored by the Association of Teacher Educators.

Dr. Jane McCarthy received the Hans Olsen Award for the Distinguished Teacher Educator at the Association of Teacher Educators (ATE) Conference in February 2016. This award is given to a member of the organization with particular focus on modeling professional teaching practices and collaborations with school, university, state education department, professional organizations, and community representatives to improve teaching, learning, and teacher education. More information on this specific award can be found at:

Ms. Lois Paretti was named the Distinguished Clinician in Teacher Education from the Association of Teacher Educators, also at this conference. This award recognizes school-based teacher educators whose work in a clinical environment, with demonstrated roles as a clinician to assist teachers in applying content of pedagogy of effective teaching and emphasizing reflective teaching, helps teachers become better in their professions. More information on this specific award can be found at:

The ATE promotes advocacy, equity, leadership, and professionalism for teacher educators in all settings and supports quality education for all learners at all levels through both exemplary clinical practice and research.

2016-2017 Teach Nevada Scholarship Recipients

The College of Education provides funding to 55 students who are returning to UNLV to become teachers through alternative route to licensure programs.

Professionals who have earned a bachelor’s degree previously in a variety of disciplines- yet now desire to teach in PK-12 classrooms- get that chance because of the Teach Nevada Scholarship. SB 511, or the Teach Nevada Scholarship Program, designated $2.5 million for each of the next two fiscal years for scholarships. For fiscal year 2017, UNLV COE received $1.2 million of the state’s allocated funds. For this award cycle, recipients were those enrolling in alternative routes to licensure programs.

Eligible students included, without limitation:

  1. Recent high school graduates who have not yet enrolled in a teacher preparation program;
  2. Students who are currently enrolled in a non-education related college/university degree program and change their academic program to teacher preparation;
  3. Students who have completed some credits at a university or college who re-enrolled in a teacher preparation program;
  4. Students who possess a bachelor’s degree in a non-education related field and chose to pursue a new alternative route to licensure for teaching;
  5. Veterans and the spouses of veterans; and
  6. Students who have had some experience working in a classroom, including without limitation, as a paraprofessional or substitute teacher.

The 2016-17 Teach Nevada Scholarship recipients are as follows: Fande Bayoh, Brianna Bolinger, Katherine Cain, Mindy Carson, Jacob Cassens, Gary Crouch, Emma Earley, Donald Edmondson, Allen Emmel, Adam Eslinger, Roderick Feurtado, Jennifer Flores, JoAnn Galante, Trebor Gibson, Teresa Gomez, Cynthia Greenleaf, Andrew Hall, Majorie Kathleen Hall, Anna-Marie Hamel, Elizabeth Hawley, John Honey, LyaTedra Howard-Harvey, Heather Locke, Samuel Lopez, Cristina Magdaleno Gonzalez, Rebecca Martin, Erin McFadden, LaShanda McGowan, Lwwayne McQueen, Sandra Mireles, Daniel Monroe, Antonio Mosby, Stephanie Moxley, Lauren Nelson, Crystal Nunes, James Oneil, Fabiola Ortiz, Kimberly Pickens, Garrett Pratt, Virginia Ramos-Barajas, Rebecca Ramos-Barajas, Richard Rodriguez, Gregory Sanders, James Smerek, Daniel Speregon, Nicole Szynski, Amber Thacker, Tyler Thompson, Della Tilsher, Minli Wang, Sandy Wayne, Carissa Wilson, Jeanne Winthrop, and Thomas Zeitler.

For more information about The Teach Nevada Scholarships Program visit the NDE website at