The POWER of Writing

UNLV College of Education faculty lead students to success with writing studio series.

In Fall 2015, Drs. Chyllis Scott and Chad Scott of the Department of Teaching and Learning, along with Dr. Margarita Huerta of the Department of Educational and Clinical Studies, taught a series of four free UNLV POWER writing studios for graduate students. POWER stands for “Promoting Outstanding Writing for Excellence in Research.”

In the sessions students learned empirically-based strategies to help them become more productive and efficient academic writers. Topics included strategies for writing regularly, managing your writing time, reading and writing at the same time, and finding support and feedback. Participants also had time to practice writing during the workshops. Participants have noted that the UNLV POWER writing studios have been helpful for writing a thesis, dissertation, grant, resume/curriculum vitae, class project, homework assignment, and writing in general.

UNLV POWER writing studios are open to all COE students. To learn more about the workshops, contact Dr. Chyllis Scott and Dr Margarita Huerta at

Dr. Kimberly Nehls Receives Annual Distinguished Scholar Award

Dr. Kimberly Nehls received the Annual Distinguished Scholar Award at the 28th Annual Ethnographic & Qualitative Research Conference (EQRC) in Las Vegas, February 1-2, 2016. This award highlights an attendee that has been active in the conference Particular consideration is given to evident scholarship and continued participation in the EQRC conference.

The awards are intended to (a) recognize quality scholarship among EQRC participants and (b) encourage able scholars to continue participating in the conference. EQRC will bestow 4-5 awards on an annual basis and they will be recognized in the conference program. We assembled an ad hoc committee of able scholars who had previously attended the EQRC conference and among whom had received the award last year. The committee reviewed CVs of individuals who previously have had longstanding participation with the conference and evidenced able scholarship in research conference presentations, journal publications, and other scholarly contributions to their respective fields. More information about the award can be found on the Annual McGraw Hill Distinguished Scholar Award site.

UNLV Press Conference on Teacher Shortage

UNLV joined AACTE to host a conversation on how educator programs are addressing Nevada teacher shortages.

The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) invites you to join the conversation on how educator preparation programs are addressing the persistent teacher shortages in Nevada at a press conference, Monday, February 22, at 2:00 p.m. PST on the campus of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (Stan Fulton Building).

Presented by AACTE in partnership with member institutions in the state, the event will highlight an interactive panel discussion moderated by Mark LaCelle-Peterson, AACTE Senior Vice President for Policy and Programs, and will feature the following panelists:

  • Kenneth Coll, Dean, College of Education, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Kim Metcalf, Dean, College of Education, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Dennis Potthoff, Dean, School of Education, Nevada State College
  • Thomas Reagan, Dean of Arts and Sciences, Great Basin College
  • Staci Vesneske, Former Chief Human Resources Officer, Clark County School District, on special assignment to the superintendent’s office

The panelists will discuss factors contributing to the local shortage as well as efforts to alleviate it. They will describe their work to develop a more robust teacher pipeline that addresses the needs of schools across Clark County and the state. Attendees will gain an inside look into the collaborative work under way to strengthen the educator workforce in Nevada and how it fits within the national context of addressing teacher shortages.

AACTE is excited to present this event hosted by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and in partnership with Great Basin College, Nevada State College, and the University of Nevada, Reno.

RSVP Requested:

Questions on this event can be directed to Sheila Bray at